. .

Duensing goes back more than 125 years

The firm of Duensing began in the year 1887, when Wilhelm I was Emperor of Germany and Otto von Bismarck managed the affairs of state as Chancellor. In Paris construction work was beginning on the Eiffel Tower, and near Kiel Kaiser Wilhelm I inaugurated work on the North Sea – Baltic Sea Canal.

  • Historie01

  • Historie02

  • Historie03

The first generation: start of the 'bricklaying business'

In the small town of Eilvese, near Neustadt am R├╝benberge in the province of Hanover, the skilled mason Friedrich Duensing founded his 'bricklaying business' on 1 April 1887. Within only a few years the company had grown to a considerable size. Numerous houses and farms were created by the hands and trowel of the company's founder, as well as schools and buildings for the Deutsche Reichsbahn railways. In and around Eilvese many buildings which were erected under his supervision can still be seen to the present day.
 

The second generation: expansion of the core business from 1924 onwards

In 1924 Adolf Duensing took over from his father at the head of the company. To its construction operations he added the business divisions of civil engineering and railway construction work. By the time of his death in 1971 he had built the company into one of the leading construction firms in Lower Saxony. Under his management the company's site and fleet experienced considerable growth, with turnover rising from 124,000 DM in the year 1952 to 4 million DM in 1970 – an increase of over 32 times.
 

The third generation: achieving new dimensions

On the death of his father in 1971 Friedrich Duensing took over the management of the family company at the age of only 23, transforming it over time into a modern, highly qualified and reliable force in the German construction industry. Building work, civil engineering and rail construction remained the company's core operations, but the new head of the company successfully managed to widen its operations, adding the construction of turnkey residential property, factory buildings and cable laying to its portfolio. On German reunification the company also gained a foothold in the new federal states, with Friedrich Duensing Sr and his son Friedrich Duensing Jr founding KGE Kabel- und Gleisbau GmbH in Erfurt in 1992.

Orders from all over Germany arrived at company HQ in Eilvese, including in 2001 the largest single order the company had ever received: Duensing received a contract from Deutsche Bahn AG to establish an electronic interlocking system in Bavaria covering a distance of 80 km. A team of 35 from Duensing spent an entire year laying the necessary railway tracks and cables.
 

The fourth generation: tradition meets future

The entry of the fourth generation into the family company set the course for the future: since 2004 Friedrich Duensing Jr has been in charge of the company's operations, together with his father Friedrich Duensing Sr. Together they have expanded the core business operations of building work, civil engineering and rail construction while shaping the firm of Duensing into a company with a lean, highly efficient organisational structure – a guarantee of reliable, fast and bureaucratic decision-making combined with fast and flexible action. Projects throughout Germany as well as in Belgium, Norway and Switzerland are now part of daily operations.

. .

Seit über 125 Jahren Duensing

Die Geschichte der Firma Duensing beginnt im Jahre 1887. Im Deutschen Kaiserreich herrschte Wilhelm I. als Deutscher Kaiser, Otto von Bismarck lenkte als Reichskanzler die Staatsgeschäfte. In Paris wurde mit dem Bau des Eiffelturms begonnen, der Deutsche Kaiser Wilhelm I. legte bei Kiel den Grundstein für den Nord-Ostsee-Kanal.

  • Historie01

  • Historie02

  • Historie03

Die I. Generation: Gründung des „Maurer-Geschäftes“

Im kleinen Ort Eilvese, in der Provinz Hannover nahe Neustadt am Rübenberge, gründete der gelernte Maurer Friedrich Duensing am 1. April 1887 sein „Maurer-Geschäft“ und führte es innerhalb weniger Jahre zu beachtlicher Größe. Zahlreiche Wohnhäuser und Bauernhöfe stammten aus der Hand und Kelle des Gründervaters, zudem Schulen und Gebäude für die Deutsche Reichsbahn. Noch heute sind viele Bauten erhalten, die unter seiner Leitung in und rund um Eilvese entstanden.


Die II. Generation: Ausbau des Kerngeschäfts ab 1924

Im Jahr 1924 folgte Adolf Duensing seinem Vater als Leiter des Unternehmens nach. Er erweiterte den Hochbau um die Geschäftsfelder Tief- und Eisenbahnbau und machte die Firma bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 1971 zu einem der führenden Anbieter in Niedersachsen. Unter seiner Regie wuchsen Firmengelände und Fuhrpark zu einer beachtlichen Größe heran, der Umsatz stieg von 124.000 D-Mark im Jahr 1950 auf 4 Millionen D-Mark im Jahr 1970 – eine Steigerung um mehr als das 32-Fache.


Die III. Generation: Der Weg zu neuer Größe

Mit dem Tod des Vaters 1971 übernahm der erst 23-jährige Friedrich Duensing die Leitung des Familienunternehmens und formte es zu einer modernen, hoch qualifizierten und zuverlässigen Größe in der bundesdeutschen Bauwirtschaft. Der Schwerpunkt aller Geschäftstätigkeiten lag nach wie vor in den Bereichen Hoch-, Tief- und Eisenbahnbau, doch verstand es der neue Firmenchef, den Tätigkeitsradius geschickt auszudehnen, sodass der Bau schlüsselfertiger Häuser und Hallen fortan ebenso zum Leistungsspektrum gehörte wie der Kabelleitungstiefbau. Mit der deutschen Wiedervereinigung fasste das Unternehmen auch in den neuen Bundesländern Fuß: 1992 gründeten Friedrich Duensing sen. und sein Sohn Friedrich Duensing jun. in Erfurt die KGE Kabel- und Gleisbau GmbH.

Aufträge aus ganz Deutschland liefen in der Firmenzentrale in Eilvese ein, so auch der größte Einzelauftrag der Firmengeschichte aus dem Jahr 2001: Damals erhielt die Firma Duensing von der Deutschen Bahn AG den Zuschlag, in Bayern auf einer Strecke von 80 Kilometern ein neues elektronisches Stellwerk zu errichten. 35 Mitarbeiter der Firma Duensing waren ein ganzes Jahr lang damit ausgelastet, die dazu gehörigen umfangreichen Gleisbauarbeiten zu verrichten und Kabel zu verlegen.


Die IV. Generation: Tradition trifft Zukunft

Mit dem Eintritt der vierten Generation ins Familienunternehmen sind die Weichen für die Zukunft gestellt: Seit 2004 leitet Friedrich Duensing jun. die Geschicke des Betriebes zusammen mit seinem Vater Friedrich Duensing sen. Gemeinsam haben beide die Kerngeschäftsfelder Hochbau, Tiefbau und Eisenbahnbau weiter ausgebaut und die Firma Duensing zu einem Unternehmen mit einer straffen, hocheffizienten Organisationsstruktur geformt – ein Garant für zuverlässige, rasche und unbürokratische Entscheidungen sowie flexibles, schnelles Handeln. Projekte in ganz Deutschland, in Belgien, Norwegen und der Schweiz gehören seitdem zum Tagesgeschäft.